2020-1-13.html

Last modified: .

Back

Previous || Next

It's been a while (new decade anyone?) but I'm back and today I'll be talking mostly about the accumulator/non-addressable register structure. It's an idea that I've mostly ripped straight from TIS 100, but I think I have a couple of ways of justifying its usecase.

74LS173 Datasheet Page One
Datasheet for 74LS173

First, I want to talk about components. A while back, I ended up ordering Ben Eater's breadboard computer kit (link here), and really liked some of the chips that he used. However, he still only worked with TTL components, which I may end up deviating from in the final design. I don't yet know too much about CMOS logic chips, but I may look into it, just because I've heard that power draw is much better on CMOS (I think it only draws power when switching between high and low?)

ACC NAR data flow
A diagram explaining the ACC-NAR data flow

--- END ---